Guide · Checked September 2026

Dispensary email marketing: the rules, the platforms, and what actually works.

Email is the cheapest message a dispensary can send, and no mobile carrier can filter it. This guide covers which platforms will take you, what the law and the inbox providers require, what it costs, and how to tell whether it's making you money.

By Matthew Dobesh, Alpine IQ certifiedUpdated
The short answer: yes, dispensaries can email their customers, and email is the least restricted channel a dispensary has. No mobile carrier sits between you and the inbox, so the cannabis content rules that filter text messages don't apply. Three things do apply: the federal CAN-SPAM law, the inbox rules set by Gmail, Yahoo and Microsoft, and your state's cannabis advertising rules. And several mainstream email platforms won't take a dispensary at all, so pick your platform before you build your list.

This guide is general information, not legal advice.

Can dispensaries send marketing email?

Yes. To see why email is easier than texting, look at who stands between you and the customer.

A text message passes through a mobile carrier, and the carriers' rules don't allow cannabis content. T-Mobile requires message content to be legal in all 50 states and federally, and its list of content it won't carry names cannabis, marijuana and CBD. That's why dispensary texting needs a cannabis-specific platform and neutral wording, which we cover in our dispensary text marketing guide.

An email doesn't pass through a carrier. It goes from your platform's servers to Gmail, Yahoo or Outlook, and those mailbox providers judge it on whether people asked for it, whether it's properly authenticated, and how many recipients mark it as spam. Their published rules say nothing about what you sell. Twilio, which bars cannabis texting on its network, says its SendGrid email service is a good option for cannabis traffic as long as you have age gating (a check that subscribers are 21 or older) in place.

So the rules for dispensary email are the same three layers that apply to any regulated product, plus one practical check:

  • Federal law. The CAN-SPAM Act sets the rules for every commercial email in the United States.
  • Inbox rules. Gmail, Yahoo and Microsoft set technical and behavioral requirements for senders, and they block mail that misses them.
  • State cannabis rules. Most legal states set an age threshold for the audience of any cannabis ad, require a warning or license number, and ban certain content. Several of those rules reach email directly.
  • Your platform's policy. Some email companies ban cannabis outright, some allow it with conditions, and many don't say. That's the first thing to settle.

Which email platforms allow cannabis?

There are two kinds of platform to choose between.

Cannabis platforms. These were built for dispensaries, connect to your point-of-sale system, and combine email with texting and loyalty. Alpine IQ (now branded AIQ), Springbig, Dutchie's Loyalty & Marketing Pro, Happy Cabbage, BLAZE Growth, Flowhub's Marketing Suite, Sweed and sprout all offer email campaigns and automated emails. As of September 2026 we couldn't find a current price list for any of them; you get a quote. AIQ sends its email through SendGrid's infrastructure. One note on Springbig: in July 2026 its public parent company handed the operating business to an entity chosen by its lenders, and the product site is still running. If you're on Springbig or considering it, ask about their plans before you sign anything.

General email platforms. These are cheaper and better at design, but their policies vary, and a platform can close your account after you've spent a year building the list. We read each company's own acceptable use policy or terms in September 2026. Here's what they say about cannabis for email.

PlatformWhat its policy saysVerdict
Kit (formerly ConvertKit)Allows marijuana marketing where it's legal in both the account owner's and the subscriber's location. No misleading health claims.Allowed
Twilio SendGridLists cannabis with alcohol, firearms, gambling and tobacco: allowed if you verify recipients are of legal age, and only where it's legal.Allowed
MailchimpDoesn't mention cannabis, marijuana or CBD. Bans "illegal goods or services" and "pharmaceutical products." Bans cannabis for its text messaging.Not stated
KlaviyoDoesn't name cannabis for email. Reserves the right to restrict any use related to controlled substances under its downstream providers' rules. Bans cannabis and CBD for texting.Not stated
Constant ContactIts help center lists "illegal drugs" as prohibited and reserves the right to exclude whole industries. Doesn't name cannabis.Not stated
HubSpot, MailerLite, Omnisend, Campaign Monitor, AWeber, Amazon SES, SquarespaceTheir policies don't mention cannabis, marijuana or CBD. HubSpot lists pharmaceuticals as a restricted industry; the rest ban illegal goods in general terms.Not stated
DripEmail terms bar "advertisement of illegal or controlled products or services." Texting terms bar cannabis and CBD businesses by name.Avoid
AttentiveBans content about "anything that is illegal in any state or federally" on every channel.Avoid
PrivyBans "dealing in controlled or illegal substances" on all channels; names CBD, cannabis, hemp and THC for texting.Avoid
ActiveCampaignBans content about drugs of any kind, prescription or over the counter, and about illegal substances.Avoid
GetResponseBans promoting "drugs of any kind, products related to drugs."Avoid
Brevo (formerly Sendinblue)Bans products "based on or containing THC, whether their distribution and/or consumption is legal or not." Hemp CBD needs vetting by its support team.Avoid
Wix Email MarketingNames "CBD, marijuana" as prohibited substances in its email terms.Avoid
Shopify EmailShopify supports hemp-derived products with no more than 0.3% THC and doesn't support marijuana sales.Avoid

Policies change, so check the current page before you sign. A "not stated" policy is a real risk, not a green light: the platform decides later, and it decides with your list in its hands. If you want a general platform, get an answer from its sales or support team in writing, and keep an export of your list.

Our own view: a single-location dispensary is better off on a cannabis platform. The email is only part of the value. The platform reads your point-of-sale data, so it knows who hasn't visited in 60 days and who buys edibles, and it can send the email, the text and the loyalty reward from one place. That's the setup we run on Alpine IQ.

What the law requires of every marketing email

The CAN-SPAM Act is the federal law for commercial email, enforced by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC). Its rules are short, and every one of them applies to a dispensary:

  • Honest header information. The "From," "To" and "Reply-To" fields must be accurate and identify your business.
  • An honest subject line. It has to reflect what's in the email.
  • Say it's an ad. The email has to make clear it's an advertisement.
  • Your physical address. Every marketing email must include a valid postal address. A registered P.O. box or private mailbox counts.
  • A clear way to opt out. The email has to explain how to stop getting mail from you, and the opt-out link has to keep working for at least 30 days after you send.
  • Honor opt-outs within 10 business days. You can't charge a fee, ask for more than an email address, or make people do more than reply or visit one web page. Once someone opts out, you can't sell or transfer their address, even as part of a list.
  • Watch what's sent for you. Hiring an agency or a platform doesn't move the responsibility. Both the business whose products are promoted and the company that sends the email can be held liable.

The FTC's compliance guide puts the maximum penalty at $53,088 per email that breaks the law. That's the 2025 inflation adjustment, and in September 2026 the FTC said it would keep applying the 2025 amounts.

Two things CAN-SPAM doesn't do. It doesn't require anyone to opt in before you email them; it's an opt-out law, and the FTC has said changing that is beyond what the Act allows. And it mostly exempts transactional email, like an order confirmation, which still can't carry false routing information but is otherwise outside most of the rules. In practice, though, you should treat opt-in as required anyway. The inbox rules in the next section and the state rules further down both push you there.

California adds its own law on top. Business and Professions Code section 17529.5 covers any commercial email sent from California or to a California address, bans falsified headers and misleading subject lines, and allows damages of $1,000 per email, up to $1,000,000 per incident.

Getting into the inbox: the Gmail, Yahoo and Microsoft rules

The mailbox providers care about two things: proof that the email really comes from you, and proof that people want it. Google's requirements have applied to everyone who sends to Gmail since February 1, 2024, and they get stricter for "bulk senders," which Google defines as anyone sending more than 5,000 messages a day to Gmail addresses, counted across your whole domain. Yahoo's rules match and took effect the same month, without a stated volume threshold. Microsoft treats domains that send 5,000 or more messages a day to Outlook.com, Hotmail and Live addresses the same way, and rejects mail that fails its checks with error 550 5.7.515.

Here's what the rules require, in plain terms.

Prove the email is yours

Three records in your domain's settings (called DNS records, the public directory that tells the internet where your domain lives) do this. SPF is a list, published on your domain, of the servers allowed to send email for it. DKIM is a digital signature on each email that lets the receiving server confirm your domain really sent it. DMARC tells receiving servers what to do with mail that fails the first two checks. Google requires SPF or DKIM from every sender; bulk senders need both, plus a DMARC record, which can be set to "none" (report only). The domain in your "From" address has to line up with the domain in SPF or DKIM. Google also wants the sending server's address to check out in both directions (forward and reverse DNS) and an encrypted (TLS) connection. Your platform handles both.

What this means for you: your platform handles the sending; you handle the domain. On AIQ, for example, you add a few records that point to AIQ (CNAME records) in your domain's settings, AIQ manages SPF through SendGrid, and you add the DMARC record yourself. AIQ's own help center warns that DNS or authentication errors lead directly to lower deliverability or mail flagged as spam. If your platform's setup guide mentions "custom sending domain," do it. If you've been sending from the platform's shared domain, that's the first fix.

Prove people want it

  • One-click unsubscribe. Marketing email has to carry List-Unsubscribe headers so Gmail and Yahoo can show an unsubscribe button at the top of the email, plus a visible unsubscribe link in the body. Google expects you to process the request within two days. Any platform worth using does this for you.
  • Spam complaints under 0.3%. Google says to stay below 0.10% and never reach 0.30%; Yahoo says below 0.3%. Since June 2024, bulk senders above 0.3% aren't eligible for Google's delivery mitigation, which means no appeal. Three complaints per thousand emails is the line.
  • No purchased lists, no surprise subscribers. Google's guidelines say not to buy addresses and not to send to people who didn't sign up. Yahoo says the same and adds: no pre-checked opt-in boxes.

Warm up a new sending domain

Mailbox providers treat a new sending domain or IP address as suspicious until it builds a reputation, which AIQ's best-practices guide says takes four to eight weeks. Dutchie publishes a schedule for its dispensary email: 50 emails on day one, 100 on day two, 500 on day three, 1,000 on day four, 2,000 on day five, then up to 35,000 by day ten. Two catches: you hold a volume tier by sending at least 10% of it in a single day at least once a week, and if you go about 30 days without sending, you may have to start the warm-up over. Send to your most engaged customers first, because their opens and clicks are what earn the reputation.

Read your own numbers

AIQ's email deliverability report grades a delivery rate of 98% or higher as excellent, 95% to 97.9% as good, and under 95% as a warning, and it recommends a spam rate below 0.3%. Whatever platform you use, find those two numbers and look at them after every send.

Age gating and state cannabis rules

States wrote their cannabis advertising rules for billboards and websites, but most define advertising broadly enough to include email, and a few name it. The common pattern: you need reliable evidence that your audience is mostly 21 or older, you need certain words on every ad, and each state bans certain content. For an email list you built from customers who bought at a licensed store, the audience test is easy to meet. The warning text and the bans are where dispensaries slip.

These are the states whose rules reach email most directly, as of September 2026.

California. Cannabis ads in digital communications may only run where reliable data shows at least 71.6% of the audience is expected to be 21 or older. Before sending any direct, individualized marketing such as email or text, a licensee has to use a method of age affirmation to verify the recipient is 21 or older. Every ad, including an email, must carry the licensee's license number. California bans ads for free cannabis, buy-one-get-one offers, contests, sweepstakes and raffles, and bans cartoons or anything attractive to children.

Arizona. From July 1, 2026, electronic, social media and website ads must reach an audience at least 73.6% 21 or older, and a licensee must use a method of age affirmation before any direct, individualized marketing communication. Every ad carries the warning "Do not use marijuana if you are under twenty-one years of age or pregnant. Keep marijuana out of reach of children." Arizona bans cartoons and untrue health statements.

New York. The Office of Cannabis Management's guidance names electronic communications such as email and SMS (text messages) as permitted channels for promotional pricing outside the store. Its audience threshold is the share of New Yorkers who are 21 or older, currently 75.9%. Every ad includes the licensee's name and license number, plus the warning: "For use only by persons 21 years of age and older. Keep out of reach of children and pets. If someone accidentally consumes cannabis, contact the Poison Center. Consume responsibly." New York bans health or curative claims, imagery attractive to under-21s, and "free" or "donated" product.

Massachusetts. The 85% rule covers "internet, mobile applications, social media, or other electronic communication," which includes email. Ads carry "Please Consume Responsibly" plus at least two of the state's listed warnings. Adult-use licensees can't advertise free promotional items, "including, but not limited to, gifts, giveaways, discounts, points-based reward systems, customer loyalty programs, coupons," and can't claim products are safe or curative. Two 2026 developments matter for email. A law approved in April 2026 lets the state's Cannabis Control Commission permit marketing of sales, discounts and loyalty programs inside the store or through an opt-in email list. And the Commission's September 25, 2026 bulletin says a requested, opt-in email counts as a personalized message, not advertising as its regulations define it, while website discount ads stay prohibited. The bulletin also says the new law is permissive, not automatic. If you sell in Massachusetts, read the current bulletin before you put a discount in an email.

New Jersey. Reliable evidence that at least 71.6% of the audience is 21 or older. Every ad discloses that the business is licensed by the State of New Jersey and carries the warning beginning "This product contains cannabis. For use only by adults 21 years of age or older. Keep out of the reach of children."

StateAudience ruleWhat else applies to email
ColoradoAt least 71.6% expected to be 21+ for internet adsNothing deceptive, false or misleading. No email-specific rule found.
MichiganNo more than 30% of the audience under legal agePackaging warnings (21+, keep out of reach of children, illegal to drive) in ads; no health claims unless the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved them.
IllinoisNo percentage setNo health, medicinal or therapeutic claims; no cartoons; no giving cannabis away to encourage sales.
WashingtonNo percentage set for emailFour state warnings on all advertising except outdoor signs; no curative claims; no giveaways or branded merchandise; coupons can't price below the store's cost. Rule amended July 4, 2026.
OregonNo more than 30% under 21 for internet adsThree required statements; no cartoons or toys; no curative claims.
NevadaNo more than 30% under 21"Keep Out of Reach of Children" and "For Use Only by Adults 21 Years of Age or Older"; no free or donated product; no child-appealing imagery.
MarylandAt least 85% expected to be 21+, including "other electronic communication"Medical or therapeutic claims need competent scientific evidence; no cartoons or mascots.
MissouriNo percentage setNothing false or misleading; no content attractive to children; no curative claims not approved by FDA.

Three habits keep you on the right side of all of this. Put the age question in your sign-up form, so every subscriber affirmed they're 21 or older when they joined; AIQ's forms and most cannabis platforms do this. Build your state's warning and your license number into the footer of your email template, so they're on every send without anyone remembering. And keep health claims out of every email, because the FTC requires competent and reliable scientific evidence for any health claim and has sent warning letters to cannabis and CBD sellers over disease claims. For ads outside email, see our dispensary advertising rules by state.

What to send

There are two kinds of email, and the data says to build them in a particular order.

Automated emails (your platform may call them flows, journeys or automations) go out one at a time when a customer does something: joins, buys, stops visiting, has a birthday. Campaigns go to a group within your list on a day you choose. Across all retail, the automated ones earn most of the money. Klaviyo's 2026 benchmarks, drawn from more than 205,000 brands, found that flows produced nearly 41% of email revenue from just 5.3% of sends. Omnisend's 2026 report, covering 27,000-plus brands, put automated emails at $3.41 in revenue per email sent in 2025 against $0.155 for campaigns. Neither dataset is cannabis-specific, but the gap is too large to ignore.

Build these first

  • Welcome. The first email after someone joins. Tell them what to expect and how often, and how to reach the store.
  • Post-purchase. A thank-you after a visit, with something useful about what they bought.
  • Win-back. For customers who haven't visited in a set number of days. This is the one that pays. Headset's 2026 study of 1,060 stores in nine states found that 67.1% of first-time cannabis shoppers don't come back within 180 days, and that a one-time shopper spends $56 in total against $316 for a repeat customer.
  • Birthday. Where your state allows the offer.
  • Abandoned cart. If you take online orders, an email when someone leaves items in the cart. AIQ, Dutchie, BLAZE and Sweed all offer this.
  • Points reminders. Sweed's Q1 2026 loyalty benchmark found that only 23.9% of new members earn a first point and just 6.6% ever reach a first redemption. An email that says "you're 40 points from a reward" is the cheapest fix for that.

AIQ's flows come with templates for welcome, abandoned cart, win-back, repeat purchase and retention, triggered by birthdays, inactivity or days since last order. Most cannabis platforms have similar sets. The work isn't inventing them; it's switching them on with the right timing and the right offer.

Then the campaigns

Weekly specials where your state allows them, new drops, restocks of a popular strain, vendor days, and plain useful information: how to dose an edible, what a terpene is, what's new in the case this week. Split the list by what people buy. The customer who only buys flower doesn't need the vape sale, and sending it to them costs you unsubscribes.

Whatever you send, the subject line has to be true and the email has to say it's an ad. The footer you built above covers the rest.

How often to send

We haven't found a published benchmark for how often dispensaries should email, so here's what the general data and the platform rules say.

Omnisend's 2025 data puts the average unsubscribe rate at 0.20% per campaign email and 0.59% per automated email. Your platform reports this for every send. Watch the trend, not the level: a spike after one email tells you that message, or that pace, missed. Watch spam complaints even more closely, because Google and Yahoo enforce the 0.3% line themselves, and there is no appeal.

Dutchie's warm-up rule above also sets a floor: send at least 10% of your tier in one day each week, or a month of silence can put you back at the start. Regular beats occasional.

A workable starting point for a single store is one campaign a week plus the automated emails, then adjust based on unsubscribes and revenue per email. That's a starting point, not a rule.

What email costs

Cannabis platforms charge one monthly fee that covers loyalty and texting as well. The only public number we found is AIQ's older rate card, from before March 2023, which listed email at $0.0013 per send and a $399 per-store license. General platforms price by the number of contacts and include a monthly send allowance; Mailchimp's plans, for example, allow 10, 12 or 15 sends per contact per month depending on the tier.

Compare that with texting, which Cova's 2026 guide puts at about 1 to 3 cents per text plus carrier fees. A worked example: 5,000 subscribers, four emails each per month, is 20,000 emails. At AIQ's old rate of 0.13 cents each, that's $26. The same 20,000 messages as texts at 2 cents each would be $400. Email can also carry the pictures, the menu and the long explanation that a text can't.

The biggest cost of an email isn't the send. It's the discount inside it. Headset's retention study found that a first-visit discount of 1% to 10% produced $193 in value over 180 days, while discounts of 50% or more produced $109. A deep discount to a customer who was coming in anyway gives away margin on a sale you already had. That's why who you email, and what you offer them, matters more than what the email costs.

How to grow your email list

Your loyalty program is your email list. Sweed's Q1 2026 benchmark, drawn from 2.1 million shoppers at stores on its platform, found loyalty members were 81.7% of active customers and produced 89% of revenue, visited 3.93 times a quarter against 2.32 for non-members, and spent $235.59 a quarter against $124.36. Email reach was 81.3% among members and 26.2% among everyone else. If a customer joins loyalty, you have their email; if they don't, you probably don't.

Where the addresses come from

  • The register. In Dutchie's point-of-sale system, the budtender selects "Register for Loyalty" at checkout, and the store can make the email field required. Other point-of-sale systems have an equivalent. This is where most of your list will come from.
  • Online ordering. The checkout on your Dutchie, Jane or Leafly menu should offer loyalty sign-up, and the account a customer creates to order should feed your platform.
  • Sign-up forms. A form on your website, a QR code on the counter and the printed menu, and a tablet at the register. AIQ's forms can be shared as a website embed, a popup, a link, a QR code or on an in-store tablet, with an optional double opt-in that asks the subscriber to confirm by email. In our check of 96 dispensary websites, 58% had an email sign-up.
  • Digital receipts. Offer an emailed receipt instead of paper. Dutchie recommends it for exactly this reason.
  • Events. Vendor days and pop-ups, with a sign-up tablet at the table.

And never buy a list. Mailchimp's policy bans purchased, rented or third-party lists outright, and bought addresses produce the spam complaints that get your whole domain filtered.

What you can offer for signing up

This depends on your state, and it's the place email guides written for other industries go wrong. Massachusetts adult-use licensees can't advertise discounts, coupons, points or loyalty programs, and the Commission is still working out the 2026 opt-in email change described above. California bans giving away any amount of cannabis as a promotion and bans raffles and sweepstakes. Washington bans promotional giveaways and branded merchandise. In states without those rules, a small first-visit reward works, and Headset's data suggests small beats large. Where you can't offer anything, the pitch is simpler and still works: "join to hear about drops and specials first." In a survey of 955 adults commissioned by Sweed in October 2025, 86% said a loyalty or rewards program would motivate repeat visits.

How to tell if email makes money

By comparing sales, not opens.

Open rates stopped meaning much in 2021. Apple's Mail Privacy Protection, introduced with iOS 15, has Apple Mail download an email's remote content, including the tracking pixel that counts an open, in the background whether or not the person reads it. Apple says the feature prevents senders from learning when or how many times an email was opened. So every subscriber on Apple Mail can show as an "open" whether they read the email or not. The big platform benchmarks say so themselves: Klaviyo reports a 31% average campaign open rate for 2026 and notes that Apple opens each email for any user with the feature enabled; Omnisend reports 30.41% for 2025 and says the same; Mailchimp's 35.63% and Constant Contact's 30.8% carry the same warning. A dispensary that reports a 35% open rate isn't lying, but it isn't measuring much either.

The one cannabis-specific figure we've found is from Sweed's Q1 2026 loyalty report: a 28.2% open rate among loyalty members against 1.0% among non-members. That gap is mostly about reach, since the store has emails for most members and few non-members, and it's a good argument for loyalty enrollment rather than a benchmark to chase.

What to track instead

  • Delivery rate: emails delivered, divided by emails sent. Under 95% means something is wrong with your domain setup or your list.
  • Click rate: clicks divided by delivered. Omnisend's 2025 averages: 0.74% for campaigns, 4.66% for automated emails. Klaviyo's 2026: 1.69% and 5.58%. We haven't found published cannabis click rates, so use your own history.
  • Unsubscribe and spam rate for each send, for the reasons above.
  • Revenue per email: sales credited to the email, divided by emails sent. Omnisend's 2025 averages: $0.155 per campaign email and $3.41 per automated email. This is the number that should decide what you send.
  • Lift over a holdout group (customers you deliberately don't email, so you can compare), which tells you what the email actually earned.

Know how your platform counts a sale

AIQ, for one, offers two attribution settings: strict credits a sale to an email only when the customer engaged with it before buying, and broad credits it whenever the customer received the email. Broad makes every number bigger. The attribution window, the period after a send in which a sale still counts, defaults to 14 days, is set once for the whole account, and can't be changed after a campaign launches. AIQ credits a purchase to one campaign only, the last one the customer touched, and counts each recipient's opens and clicks once no matter how many times they open or click. Know which setting your reports use; we report strict.

We haven't found a holdout or control-group feature in AIQ's documentation, so run one by hand: take a segment, email 90% of it, hold back a random 10%, wait out the attribution window, and compare average spend per customer between the two groups. The difference, across the whole segment, is what the email earned. Small groups swing a lot, so repeat it before you trust it. Our text marketing guide walks through the same test with numbers.

For a sense of scale: in September 2026, email and text together brought a single-location Colorado dispensary we work with over $37,000 in attributed revenue in the first three weeks of the month, against a $13,000 goal for the whole month, measured with AIQ's strict setting in the client's own dashboard. The numbers are on our homepage. The report doesn't separate email's share from text's. The account had a list and a loyalty program before we arrived; we changed the automation and the targeting.

Email and text together

Every cannabis platform we know of sends both, and the two do different jobs. Use email for the weekly specials, drops, education and points reminders, and text for the offer that ends tonight. When texts get filtered, and even a careful program sees some filtered, email is the channel that still arrives. The rules for texting are stricter and different, and we've written them up separately in the dispensary text marketing guide.

More questions dispensary owners ask

Is email marketing legal for dispensaries?
Yes, in states where cannabis is legal. The federal CAN-SPAM law applies to every commercial email, your state's cannabis advertising rules apply to the content, and the mailbox providers' rules decide whether it arrives. None of them bans cannabis email. The practical limit is your platform's policy, which is why you choose the platform first.
Can I use Mailchimp for my dispensary?
Mailchimp's acceptable use policy doesn't mention cannabis. It bans illegal goods and services and pharmaceutical products, and it bans cannabis for its text messaging. We haven't found a Mailchimp statement that allows or bans dispensary email. Get an answer from Mailchimp in writing before you build a list there, and keep an export.
Can I use Klaviyo?
Klaviyo doesn't name cannabis in the email part of its policy, but it reserves the right to restrict any use related to controlled substances under its downstream providers' rules, and it bans cannabis and CBD for texting. Same advice: ask in writing first. Kit and Twilio SendGrid are the two general platforms whose policies allow cannabis email outright, with age gating and only where it's legal.
Do customers have to opt in before I email them?
CAN-SPAM doesn't require it; it's an opt-out law. But Google and Yahoo tell senders not to email people who didn't sign up, spam complaints above 0.3% get your domain filtered, and California and Arizona require age affirmation before direct marketing. Treat opt-in as required.
Did the 2026 marijuana rescheduling change email rules?
Not so far. In April 2026 the federal government moved FDA-approved marijuana products and marijuana sold under a state medical license to Schedule III (a less restricted legal category); other marijuana, including adult-use, stayed in Schedule I (the most restricted), and a hearing on moving all of it ran from June 29 to July 15, 2026, with no decision announced as of September 2026. As of September 2026 we haven't found any email provider or law that changed its cannabis email rules because of it.
What's a good open rate for dispensary email?
There's no reliable answer, because Apple Mail Privacy Protection inflates opens for every sender. The general platforms report averages around 30% to 36% and say those are inflated; Sweed's 2026 cannabis data shows 28.2% among loyalty members. Judge email by clicks, revenue per email and lift over a holdout group instead.
Can I offer a discount for joining my email list?
It depends on the state. Massachusetts adult-use licensees can't advertise discounts, coupons or loyalty programs, with a 2026 change for opt-in email still being worked out. California bans free cannabis, raffles and sweepstakes. Washington bans giveaways. Elsewhere a small first-visit reward is usually fine, and Headset's data suggests small rewards keep customers better than deep ones.
Can Green Spark Media run our email for us?
Yes. We run email, text and loyalty marketing for licensed dispensaries, with Alpine IQ as our home platform. Founding client rates start at $600 a month, and your first month is free. See how we price, or start with the free audit.
Matthew Dobesh, founder of Green Spark Media

About the author

Matthew Dobesh founded Green Spark Media. He got his start in cannabis about fifteen years ago in a grow warehouse, harvesting, trimming and packaging product while he was in university. An MBA and a marketing career later, he's back in the industry, this time helping dispensaries grow. He's Alpine IQ certified and runs a live Alpine IQ account every day. Read Matthew's story.

This guide is general information, not legal advice. Email and cannabis rules change and differ by state, so talk to a lawyer who knows both before you launch. Last checked September 26, 2026.

Sources

Federal law and rules

Inbox and deliverability rules

State law

Email platform policies

Cannabis platforms

Data

Keep Reading

Related pages

See where your email list
is losing sign-ups.

Tell us your dispensary, your point-of-sale system and your loyalty platform. We'll send a free written report on what your marketing is getting right and what it isn't, in 3 business days, with no call required.

Get Your Free Audit

Prefer to just talk? Book a call · or email matt@greensparkmedia.com